HTT Trustees

Trustees of the charity

The Trustees of the Historic Towns Trust form the governing body of the charity and meet four times a year.  They are:

Chair and trustee:  Professor Keith Lilley (Queen’s University, Belfast)

Other trustees:


Dr Elizabeth Baigent (University of Oxford)

Professor Caroline Barron OBE (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Professor Matthew Davies (Birkbeck, University of London)

Professor Helen Fulton (University of Bristol)

Professor Vanessa Harding (Hon. Secretary) (Birkbeck, University of London)

Nick Millea (Bodleian Library, Oxford)

John Moore (University of Glasgow)

Julian Munby (Oxford Archaeology)

Dr Keith Parry (Hon. Treasurer)

Professor Adrian Phillips CBE (Countryside Commission and IUCN)

Dr Alice Prochaska (University of Oxford and IHR)

Professor Sarah Rees Jones (University of York)

Professor Roey Sweet (University of Leicester and AHRC)

Anthony Weale (University of Oxford)

The charity also has Vice-Presidents, who are former trustees and whose contribution to the project over many years continues to be highly valued:

Dr Peter Addyman CBE (York Archaeological Trust)         

Professor Martin Biddle CBE FBA (University of Oxford)

Alan Crossley (formerly Victoria County History)

Professor Paul Slack (University of Oxford)

Professor David Palliser (University of Leeds)


The Cartographic Editor is Giles Darkes


Executive Sub-Committee

The day-to-day business of the charity is overseen by an Executive Sub-Committe which meets about six times a year and reports to the Trustees.  The members are currently:

Keith Lilley (chair); Caroline Barron; Vanessa Harding; Nick Millea; Keith Parry; and Anthony Weale.

In addition, the Cartographic Editor is a member of the committee.

Its terms of reference under the HTT's constitution can be found here to download.


Strategy and Fundraising Committee

The SFG has as its remit to develop a strategy for the Trust, to oversee the growth of its core capital and to raise funds for specific projects. The members are currently:

Anthony Weale (chair); Matthew Davies; Vanessa Harding; Keith Parry; Adrian Phillips; and Alice Prochaska.

In addition, the Cartographic Editor is a member of the committee.